Skip to content

Norfolk and Suffolk finalists announced for Social Worker of the Year Awards

Social workers from Norfolk and Suffolk are short listed in several categories for the Social Worker of the Year Awards 2022.

There are ninety finalists from across England in competition for 17 awards and the winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on 4 November.

The Social Worker of the Year Awards is also the charity which was set up to celebrate the outstanding achievements of practitioners and teams.

It is an important opportunity for social workers to receive recognition for their challenging work and dedication in helping to transform people’s lives. 

The independent judging panel included people with lived experience of services, young care leavers, social workers and sector leaders.

The finalists work for local authorities - children’s and adults - and universities and colleges feature in the student categories.

Good luck to Norfolk County Council colleagues Bobbie Dean and Owen Garrod and Suffolk County Council colleagues Helen Southgate and Clare Fisk.

Congratulations to all the finalists and some of the categories are listed below.

Newly qualified adult social worker of the year

  • Helen Southgate (Suffolk County Council)
  • Anna Boddy (City of York Council)
  • Sehrish Zeb (Essex County Council)
  • Cheryl Dixon (Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council)
  • Naomi Thompson (Worcestershire County Council)
  • Tracey Bell (Lancashire County Council)

Team of the year, adult services (including multi-disciplinary teams)

  • The team around Kasibba – Camden Integrated Learning Disability Service (London Borough of Camden and Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Enhanced support team (Derbyshire County Council)
  • Day unit multi-disciplinary team (MDT) (Mary Stevens Hospice)
  • Central adult safeguarding team (Suffolk County Council)
  • Independent futures team (Hampshire County Council)
  • Social Work Student Connect

Team of the year, children’s services

  • Families First Fostering
  • 24/7 in the home programme team (Advanced CCA)
  • Make a change team (Suffolk County Council)
  • Reunification Team (Coventry City Council)
  • Kingston and Richmond leaving care/UASC team (Achieving for Children)
  • Social Work Student Connect

Digital transformation in social work

  • Hull City Council
  • Festival of Learning (Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council)
  • Adult Learning Disabilities and Innovation Team (Norfolk County Council)
  • Essex TEC Partnership (Essex County Council, Millbrook Healthcare and Provide CIC)
  • Social work team, Mary Stevens Hospice
  • Social Work Student Connect

Adult social worker of the year

  • Bhavna Maher (Leicester City Council)
  • Clare Fisk (Suffolk County Council)
  • Jennifer Paddock (Gloucestershire County Council)
  • Karen Turner (Sunderland City Council)
  • Sally Adams (Salford Care Organisation, Northern Care Alliance NHS Group)
  • Deborah Solomon (Derbyshire County Council)

Children’s social worker of the year

  • Annmarie Nero (Achieving for Children)
  • Nathan Head (Durham County Council)
  • Bobbie Dean (Norfolk County Council)
  • Kathryn Vayro (Derby City Council)

Lifetime achievement award

  • Sarah Lowe
  • Tony Wright (Forward Assist)
  • Owen Garrod (Norfolk County Council)
  • Elizabeth Parry (Sunderland City Council)
  • Val Swan (Sunderland City Council)
  • Suzanne Brown (NAViGO)

Find out more about Social Worker of the Year Awards